Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Active  | Guidelines  | Search

Quick Go »
No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 7
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 1050 times and has 6 replies Next Thread
Former Member
Cruncher
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
When can I reboot my PC ?

Hello.

I'm a newbie blushing I just downloaded the software last night and I let my computer on all night and all day long. I was happy on the morning when my first project was over and a second one was running.

But I would like to know when I can turn off or reboot my computer without loosing the work already done.

I read this post. They said a checkpoint is written every 10 mn. Is that true for every project done ?
If I turn my computer off for the night, will the software continue the same project or load a new one on the day after ?
What if I leave for 2 weeks for holidays ? Wouldn't it be interesting to have a box to tick with "Close at the end of this project" ?

Thank you for answering my questions ! smile
[Mar 16, 2007 1:48:51 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher
Re: When can I reboot my PC ?

[Mar 16, 2007 2:09:20 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher

Well ! I got te answer of the first question :
"They said a checkpoint is written every 10 mn. Is that true for every project done ?"
No, it is not :
http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/forums/wcg/...=11332&offset=0#84461

But who can answer to the two last questions ?
[Mar 16, 2007 2:10:45 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher

It will restart from the last check point written to the hard drive.
[Mar 16, 2007 2:23:57 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Sekerob
Ace Cruncher