Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Active  | Guidelines  | Search
 

Quick Go »
No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 46
Posts: 46   Pages: 5   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 14681 times and has 45 replies Next Thread
mgpointner
Advanced Cruncher
Argentina
Joined: Nov 16, 2009
Post Count: 55
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

For those running headless, I wonder what the point of installing Raspberry Pi OS Lite 64-bit would be over just installing Debian 64-bit for arm64.

Hi, in my case because Raspian have a set of commands (like vcgencmd ) specially for Raspeberry Pi.
----------------------------------------

[May 29, 2020 9:31:01 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
MrPi
Cruncher
Joined: Jan 2, 2015
Post Count: 2
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Well, I just can't get WCG (OpenPandemics) to work on my pi4 4GB even with the options flag

<options>
<alt_platform>aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu</alt_platform>
</options>

I get the following

| World Community Grid | Message from server: This project doesn't support computers of type aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu

I've tried the ubuntu 20 64 bit OS and the beta Raspberry OS 64 bit.

https://ubuntu.com/download/raspberry-pi
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=117&t=275370

On the plus side, I got Rosetta@home to work and on all four cores using the global_prefs_override.xml and the following entries (which the 300 value for memory i agree seems odd)

<max_ncpus_pct>100.000000</max_ncpus_pct>
<vm_max_used_pct>90.000000</vm_max_used_pct>
<ram_max_used_busy_pct>300.000000</ram_max_used_busy_pct>
<ram_max_used_idle_pct>300.000000</ram_max_used_idle_pct>
<cpu_usage_limit>100.000000</cpu_usage_limit>

Any ideas on the WCG?
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by cube at May 31, 2020 9:33:57 PM]
[May 31, 2020 9:31:24 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hchc
Veteran Cruncher
USA
Joined: Aug 15, 2006
Post Count: 802
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Honestly instead of mere workarounds and hacks, I think the solution is for WCG Tech team to:
  • Support aarch64 (arm64) on Linux; and
  • Compile a 64-bit OPN1 AutoDock binary application for this architecture

Once this happens, we'll have much better out-of-the-box support. I'd be more open to building an army of little crunchers then, especially going into the hot summer.
----------------------------------------
  • i5-7500 (Kaby Lake, 4C/4T) @ 3.4 GHz
  • i5-4590 (Haswell, 4C/4T) @ 3.3 GHz
  • i5-3570 (Broadwell, 4C/4T) @ 3.4 GHz

----------------------------------------
[Edit 2 times, last edit by hchc at May 31, 2020 10:04:21 PM]
[May 31, 2020 10:03:16 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
jul059
Cruncher
Joined: Apr 5, 2012
Post Count: 14
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Well, I just can't get WCG (OpenPandemics) to work on my pi4 4GB even with the options flag

<options>
<alt_platform>aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu</alt_platform>
</options>

I get the following

| World Community Grid | Message from server: This project doesn't support computers of type aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu

I've tried the ubuntu 20 64 bit OS and the beta Raspberry OS 64 bit.

https://ubuntu.com/download/raspberry-pi
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=117&t=275370

On the plus side, I got Rosetta@home to work and on all four cores using the global_prefs_override.xml and the following entries (which the 300 value for memory i agree seems odd)

<max_ncpus_pct>100.000000</max_ncpus_pct>
<vm_max_used_pct>90.000000</vm_max_used_pct>
<ram_max_used_busy_pct>300.000000</ram_max_used_busy_pct>
<ram_max_used_idle_pct>300.000000</ram_max_used_idle_pct>
<cpu_usage_limit>100.000000</cpu_usage_limit>

Any ideas on the WCG?


You may have luck by adding:
<options>
<alt_platform>arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf</alt_platform>
</options>

Instead. I'm not sure though, and it might produce errors! But it might me worth a try.
[Jun 1, 2020 12:23:35 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
MrPi
Cruncher
Joined: Jan 2, 2015
Post Count: 2
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Interesting.....

I've added <alt_platform>arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf</alt_platform> and now its downloaded a ton of work. thanks.

I'm using the new beta PI 64bit OS so i'll keep an eye on it for errors.

Someone must be missing a trick here. All these power efficient / nano computing boards. I admit not that powerful really, but surely this is where distributed computing becomes powerful.
[Jun 1, 2020 8:04:34 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher
Joined: May 22, 2018
Post Count: 0
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Interesting, there being 2 variations of this alt platform now working for different people, google finds that the last one <alt_platform>arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf</alt_platform> enables ARM7
https://github.com/rust-lang/rust/issues/45284
[Jun 1, 2020 8:39:50 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
poppinfresh99
Cruncher
Joined: Feb 29, 2020
Post Count: 49
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

I had tried
<options>
<alt_platform>arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf</alt_platform>
</options>
to get WCG to work on 64-bit Ubuntu Server, and it didn't work after I did...
boinccmd --read_cc_config
boinccmd --project http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org update
But I just learned that I needed to do...
sudo systemctl restart boinc-client
It works!

Edit: Even though it's a 32-bit WCG executable, WCG is running cooler than on 32-bit Raspbian! I am running a Pi 3B running Raspberry Pi OS if that makes any difference.

Regarding Rosetta@home, I see no information to confirm that Rosetta is always (or even usually) 32-bit. As for why a 64-bit Rosetta executable will run without a 64-bit userland (only the kernel is 64-bit), the executable must be stand-alone?

Edit: Oh, I figured it out. Rosetta@home and WCG are statically linked (what the file command returns), not dynamically linked.

For those running headless, I wonder what the point of installing Raspberry Pi OS Lite 64-bit would be over just installing Debian 64-bit for arm64.

Hi, in my case because Raspian have a set of commands (like vcgencmd ) specially for Raspeberry Pi.

I also trust Raspberry Pi OS to not overheat my Pi (via throttling), whereas I'm not so sure about other (64-bit) OSs.

I also like the following command in Raspberry Pi OS...
sudo raspi-config

And running the following command on Ubuntu Server took forever because it installed all kinds of stuff (like Nvidia stuff)
sudo apt-get install boinc

Ubuntu Server also had some fancy security that I didn't care for: updated certain things automatically by default, required me to change password, etc. And I couldn't get Bluetooth to work (if anyone cares).

One thing I liked about Ubuntu Server is that SSH was enabled by default without having to first add a file to the microSD card.
----------------------------------------
[Edit 8 times, last edit by poppinfresh99 at Jun 2, 2020 3:00:57 PM]
[Jun 1, 2020 6:53:55 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
jul059
Cruncher
Joined: Apr 5, 2012
Post Count: 14
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Interesting, there being 2 variations of this alt platform now working for different people, google finds that the last one <alt_platform>arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf</alt_platform> enables ARM7
https://github.com/rust-lang/rust/issues/45284


It depends on which OS you install it on. aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu will be default on a full 64 OS (NOT raspbian with the 64 option, which I understand is only the kernel). Therefore, you need to specify arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf to tell Boinc that this other architecture is also acceptable to download.

On the other hand, if you're on Raspbian 64bit, Boinc will default to arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf (I think). So you need to specify aarch64-unknown-linux-gnu as an acceptable architecture for Rosetta.

arm-unknown-linux-gnueabihf is the very common 32bit hard float architecture.

This is my understanding­. It was all conjecture before you guys tried it.
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by jul059 at Jun 1, 2020 8:44:36 PM]
[Jun 1, 2020 8:40:57 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
poppinfresh99
Cruncher
Joined: Feb 29, 2020
Post Count: 49
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

Just found this post from 2017 explaining how to run 32-bit ARM apps on 64-bit ARM devices...
https://boinc.berkeley.edu/forum_thread.php?id=11411
WCG doesn't need the libraries at the top, but I also run Universe@home as a backup, and the C++ library is needed for that.

Hoping for this post to be a complete how-to for using a 64-bit Pi, here is some more info...
In order to edit cc_config.xml,
https://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration
I did
sudo nano /var/lib/boinc/cc_config.xml
then I had to run
sudo systemctl restart boinc-client
[Jun 2, 2020 2:03:51 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
BQL_FFM
Cruncher
Germany
Joined: Jun 16, 2016
Post Count: 15
Status: Offline
Project Badges:
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
cool Re: Can't recognize ARM architecture

You would need to use a 32 bit ARM image. I had my raspberry running Ubuntu 64 and once I switched to 32 bit it started working[/quo'te]

I am using PI OS 32 bit with PI 3B, 2B and the Pi Zero for OpenPandemics. Without any problem.
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by BQL_FFM at Jun 4, 2020 7:25:30 PM]
[Jun 4, 2020 7:24:24 PM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 46   Pages: 5   [ Previous Page | 1 2 3 4 5 | Next Page ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread