Index | Recent Threads | Unanswered Threads | Who's Active | Guidelines | Search |
![]() |
World Community Grid Forums
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
No member browsing this thread |
Thread Status: Active Total posts in this thread: 10
|
![]() |
Author |
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
Is there anyway to set the priority level at which each job is started? It seems the default is a nice level of 19, but when I'm not actively using the computer there's no reason it shouldn't have a higher priority (e.g. nice = 0). Thanks,
|
||
|
Alther
Former World Community Grid Tech United States of America Joined: Sep 30, 2004 Post Count: 414 Status: Offline Project Badges: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There is no real reason to boost the priority. If you aren't using the computer, it's sitting idle (more or less) anyway and it is already using almost all the CPU. The whole point is to not impact the machine. e.g. If folks run backups, maintenance programs, or whaterver during "off hours", the grid program won't affect them.
----------------------------------------
Rick Alther
Former World Community Grid Developer |
||
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
So that's a "no" ? Thank you.
|
||
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
Hello dllahr,
So that's a "no" ? Correct. The priority is set in the client code. It can be temporarily changed, but as soon as the next work unit starts, everything gets set back to the programmed levels. What Rick Alther was giving you was the reason why the programmers did not go to the trouble to expose the setting for user intervention. It did not seem worthwhile. mycrofth |
||
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
Ok, just making sure. Thank you again both.
|
||
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
Hi,
just for fun, I downloaded the source code for boinc, and in the directory "client' modified the file app_start.C The line: static const int PROCESS_IDLE_PRIORITY = 19; I changed to static const int PROCESS_IDLE_PRIORITY = 0; After compiling & running, the processes now start with default nice value of 0. Dave |
||
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
![]() Let us know if there are any observed side effects. |
||
|
Former Member
Cruncher Joined: May 22, 2018 Post Count: 0 Status: Offline |
will do!
(none so far, but's only been a day). |
||
|
Alther
Former World Community Grid Tech United States of America Joined: Sep 30, 2004 Post Count: 414 Status: Offline Project Badges: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi, just for fun, I downloaded the source code for boinc, and in the directory "client' modified the file app_start.C The line: static const int PROCESS_IDLE_PRIORITY = 19; I changed to static const int PROCESS_IDLE_PRIORITY = 0; After compiling & running, the processes now start with default nice value of 0. Dave Yup. One thing about BOINC is you can tweak it :-) But as I said, you won't notice any difference in your workunit throughput (you might gain a few seconds per workunit...if that). The real thing you'll notice is that other applications on the system might become a little sluggish because now they are competing with the grid process which always wants the CPU.
Rick Alther
Former World Community Grid Developer |
||
|
Alther
Former World Community Grid Tech United States of America Joined: Sep 30, 2004 Post Count: 414 Status: Offline Project Badges: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So that's a "no" ? Thank you. Yeah, that's a no (unless you rebuild BOINC as you did). Sometimes I should just stick to simple answers :-)
Rick Alther
----------------------------------------Former World Community Grid Developer [Edit 1 times, last edit by Alther at Dec 31, 2005 8:14:04 PM] |
||
|
|
![]() |