Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Active  | Guidelines  | Search

Quick Go »
No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 9
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 899 times and has 8 replies Next Thread
Former Member
Cruncher
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Not finding GPU?

Hello, I'm a newb, so be gentle ;)

I am attempting to run my GTX 650 on the CEP and have the following app_config.xml file in my data directory (C:\ProgramData\BOINC\projects\www.worldcommunitygrid.org)

<app_config>
<app>
<name>cep2</name>
<max_concurrent>2</max_concurrent>
<gpu_versions>
<gpu_usage>1.000</gpu_usage>
<cpu_usage>1.000</cpu_usage>
</gpu_versions>
</app>
</app_config>

So, when I read in the preferences file via advanced -> read config file it finds the app_config file, but it still doesn't fetch any GPU work. Only CPU.

So ... did I do this right and there's just no GPU work? Or am I doing something wrong? Halp! crying
[Aug 17, 2013 4:30:48 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher
Re: Not finding GPU?

Sorry but there are NO GPU projects at the moment, they are all CPU only.
[Aug 17, 2013 4:45:35 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher

OK. FIgured that would be a possibility. Where would I find status of the projects that might DO support GPU work / have it?
[Aug 17, 2013 4:56:59 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher

hi eskercurve,
The answer to your query concerning cep2 and gpu is gentle. The problem is this: cep2 does not employ the gpu. You will receive cpu work units only (gnarly, to be sure), but cpu only. Good luck!
paul
[Aug 17, 2013 5:09:41 AM]   Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Former Member
Cruncher